What is LEED

LEED® (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design), from the U. S. Green Building Council it is a method developed by private agencies and is a voluntary evaluation and certification method for sustainability and high efficiency in building designs. This scheme has a positive impact on the environment, health and the local economy. By following the guidelines, this provides significant energy savings, reduced greenhouse gas emissions, better air quality indoor, and a significantly reduced running and operational costs.

The certificate is based on the evaluation by points of the following categories:

  • Sustainable Sites (SS)
  • Water efficiency (WE)
  • Energy and atmosphere (EA)
  • Materials and Resources (MR)
  • Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ).
  • Innovation in Design (ID)

The LEED certificate can be applied to any type or phase of the life cycle of the building, to the following cases: LEED-NC, for new plant and reforms; LEED-CS, for core and shell; LEED-CI, for Interiors, renovations or implantations; LEED-ND, for Urbanism; LEED-HOMES, for single-family homes; SPECIAL GUIDES: Schools-Colleges, Hospitals, Laboratories, Stores; LEED-EB, for Operation, Maintenance and Improvements LEED has 4 levels of certification: Certified, Silver, Gold and Platinum.